# Department of Geography Committees and Responsibilities, 2015-2016 (Final)

## **Departmental Administration**

Associate Head - Grissino-Mayer

Executive Committee – Alderman (head), Grissino-Mayer (associate head), Kalafsky (2016), Kim (2017), Nagle (2018)

#### Specific Positions/Tasks

BGB Safety - Grissino-Mayer

Computer Labs Management - Kim (until new position filled)

Commencement Faculty Representatives: Tran & Washington-Allen (fall); Ellis & Washington-Allen (spring)

Human Subjects (IRB) Coordinator – Sharma

College Diversity Committee Member/Diversity Officer -- Muñoz

Opening of Rooms 101 & 301 in Morning--Butefish

Photographers – Tran, Horn, & Cook (student)

Recorder/Taker of Minutes – Muñoz (fall), TBA (spring)

SERF Space Coordinator - Horn

Claxton Space Coordinator – Washington-Allen

SERF Lab Chemical Hygiene Officer – Mathew Boehm (Horn)

Curriculum Coordinator--Kalafsky

Visiting Speakers/Colloquium 501 Coordinator – Washington-Allen & Hannah Gunderman (fall), Ellis & Hannah Gunderman (spring)\*--**NEW student position** 

Special Event Coordinating Committee: Tran (chair), Sharma, Emma Walcott-Wilson--NEW committee

\*please note that colloquium coordinator is expected to assist Special Event Coordinating Committee with organization of Alumni Awards Ceremony, Geography Awareness Week Lecture Series, Hammond Lecture Series, and Spring Student Awards Ceremony

### **Working Committees**

Class Scheduling Committee – Grissino-Mayer (chair), Foresta, Horn, Tran

McCroskey Fund Committee – Washington-Allen (chair), Muñoz, Njorge Gathongo, Adam Alsamadisi, Alderman (ex officio)

Awards Committee - Alderman, Executive Committee, Amy Rideout (undergrad), see grad student reps

Space Committee – Grissino-Mayer (chair), Butefish, Foresta, Horn

Technology/Tech Fee Committee—Kim (chair), Horn, Washington-Allen

SACS Committee – Alderman (chair), Kalafsky, Inwood

Bylaw Revision Committee—Foresta (chair), Grissino-Mayer, Inwood—NEW Committee

## **Faculty**

Faculty mentors for tenure-track assistant professors:

Kim – Shaw Muñoz -- Inwood Ellis -- Grissino-Mayer Sharma – Horn

Washington-Allen – Li, Horn

Faculty peer review – It is responsibility of individual faculty members to schedule peer observations with assistance from faculty mentors. Planned peer observations should be brought to Department Head for review before being carried out.

## **Undergraduate Program**

Undergraduate Program Committee – Kalafsky (director & chair), Li (associate director), Ellis, Conner, Hinten, Alderman (ex officio)

Undergraduate Advisors – Kalafsky (lead), Ellis, Li Advisors to Geography Club – Kalafsky Advisor to GTU – Ellis Honors Program – Kalafsky, Horn

Geography 101 Coordinator – Conner Geography 131 Lab Manual and Lab Fees Coordinator – Ellis Geography 131 GTA/GTAssociate Coordinator – Ellis Geography 132 Lab Manual and Lab Fees Coordinator – Li Geography 132 GTA/GTA

# **Graduate Program**

Graduate Program Committee – Inwood (director & chair), van Riemsdijk (associate director), Muñoz, Nagle, Tran, Matt Boehm, Alderman (ex officio)

Graduate Admissions Committee – Inwood (chair), van Riemsdijk, Ellis, Horn, Kim, Nagle Graduate Examinations Committee – Alderman (chair), Ellis, Nagle GTA Scheduling – Horn (working with Head and Directors of Graduate Studies)

## **Departmental Representatives: Faculty**

**Curriculum Committees:** 

Natural Sciences Curriculum Committee – Horn Social Sciences Curriculum Committee – Kalafsky Dean's Advisory Council –Li Faculty senate – van Riemsdijk & Kim Library – Horn

Dept. Rep. on Laboratory and Workplace Safety Committee (LWSC) - Li (fall), Grissino-Mayer (spring)

## **Development and Outreach**

Newsletter Committee - Butefish (chair & editor), Alderman, Rachel Craig, Alisa Hass

Web Page and Social Media Committee - Li (co-chair), Ellis (co-chair), Muñoz, Larry Lu, Kyle Landolt

Development and Alumni Relations – Alderman & Grissino-Mayer

Outreach & Promotion (includes but not limited to Geography Awareness) – Butefish (lead), Undergrad Program Committee, Graduate Program Committee, Club Geography, GARG, Special Event Coordinating Committee

Advisory/Advancement Board –Ray Boswell, Lou Fatale, Saskia van de Gevel, Glen Harrison, Dan Hawk, and Kim Raia

#### **Graduate Student Positions**

Dean's Graduate Student Advisory Council - Melanie Barron

Grad student rep to Graduate Student Senate – Matt Kerr, Jeremy Auerbach

Faculty Awards Board/Graduate Member, Department Awards Committee - Erik Johanson, Jihwan

Yoon, Sandhya Nepal, Donghee Koh, Hannah Gunderman, Scott Markley, Matt Boehm

Colloquium Co-Coordinator – Hannah Gunderman

Liaison to Undergraduate Students - Nathan Trombley

Graduate Photographer & Web Site - Matt Cook

Graduate Student Representative to Department Meetings - Lauren Stachowiak & Matt Boehm

Graduate Student Representative to McCroskey committee - Njoroge Gathongo, Adam Alsamadisi

Graduate Student Member of Graduate Program Committee - Matt Boehm

Graduate Student Member of Web/Social Media Committee — Larry Lu, Kyle Landolt

Graduate Student Member of Newsletter Committee — Rachel Craig, Alisa Hass

Graduate Student Member of Special Events Committee – Emma Walcott-Wilson

Friday Happy Hour Czar – Jeremy Auerbach

2016 Research Symposium Lead Organizer – Tyler Sonnichsen

**GARG** leadership:

President – Janna Caspersen

VP – Maegen Rochner

Treasurer / Secretary - Scott Markley

### **Undergraduate Student Positions**

Club Geography

President: Brooke Pearson Vice-President: Hudson Kelley Treasurer: Anders Vaughn Secretary: Griffin Marcom Historian: Jordan Rhoton

Undergraduate Student Representative to Geography Department Meetings: Brooke Pearson

Dean's Undergraduate Student Advisory Council: Brooke Pearson and Amy Rideout

Undergraduate Member, McCroskey committee: Michael Hazelton

Undergraduate Member, Department Awards Committee: Amy Rideout

Special Event Coordinating Committee: Farley Ferreira (Fall Semester) and Steven Little (Spring

Semester)